Foundation Awards & Achievements

Foundation Awards & Achievements
Posted on 01/06/2023

A major role of the Foundation is to sponsor projects that promote learning and recognize and reward student and staff achievement. A growing number of businesses and industries provide financial support for these programs.

  • Charles I. Dover Teacher Incentive Program provides three grants for creative and unique projects submitted by teachers and faculty.
  • Math Day provides team and individual mathematics competitions for fifth-graders from all elementary and intermediate schools at Gardner-Webb University each year. Laughlin Furniture Outlet, an NEG have served as corporate sponsors in recent years. Judges are representatives of businesses and industries.
  • Hoyt and Anne Dover Bailey Teaching Excellence Awards Program is sponsored annually through the Foundation to recognize outstanding teachers as chosen by the top academic seniors of Burns, Crest, Early College, Kings Mountain, and Shelby high schools.
  • Carl Debrew Hero Awards Program is underwritten by Laughlin Furniture to recognize elementary and middle school students who have overcome adversity to achieve success.
  • Hoyt Q. Bailey Agape Teacher Award is presented to three teachers for their efforts in turning around the life of a student or providing exemplary care and concern for students.
  • The David Hinson Award is named in honor of a former transportation director of Cleveland County Schools and is presented annually to exemplary bus drivers. The Foundation co-sponsors this monetary award with the Cleveland County Board of Education.