Washington Elementary Teacher Named County’s Top Educator

Washington Elementary Teacher Named County’s Top Educator
Posted on 09/27/2022

Cailyn Van Buren, now at Washington Elementary, has been named the Cleveland County Schools Teacher of the Year. Van Buren was recognized during the annual Outstanding Educators ceremony held in the outdoor amphitheater at the Venue at Turkey Ridge.

“I am very honored to represent Cleveland County Schools as Teacher of the Year,” said Van Buren. “Thank you to all the leaders in my life who have made such a positive influence on my career.”

The two runner-up finalists for Teacher of the Year included Alex Rowe of Kings Mountain High and Kimberly Proctor of Washington Elementary. Each received $250 from David and Marie Brinkley.

Mrs. Van Buren received a yearlong membership to the YMCA, a beautiful glass award commemorating the recognition, and $5,000 from David and Marie Brinkley.

Cailyn Van Buren is simply amazing and we are so very proud that she’ll be representing Cleveland County Schools as our Teacher of the Year,” said Greg Shull, local Teacher of the Year program coordinator. “She’ll continue through the Teacher of the Year process by competing regionally among top educators. As the top teacher from Cleveland County, we already know she will be a frontrunner at the very least!”

Congratulations to the following as the school-level Teacher of the Year winners:

  • Robin Durham, Bethware Elementary
  • Patricia Patrick, Boiling Springs Elementary
  • Thomas Centofanti, Burns High
  • Charlcy Carpenter, Burns Middle
  • Leslie Kale, Casar Elementary
  • Edie Greenlee, Cleveland Early College
  • Sydney Davis, Crest High
  • Angela Gates, Crest Middle
  • Robyn Wooten, East Elementary
  • Amy Mittelman, Fallston Elementary
  • Emily Turner, Graham Elementary
  • Samantha Williams, Grover Elementary
  • Angela Roberts, James Love Elementary
  • Colleen Witherspoon, Jefferson Elementary
  • Jamey Anne Croft, Kings Mountain High
  • Heather Stevenson, Kings Mountain Intermediate
  • Ramey Bridges, Kings Mountain Middle
  • Summer Sheehan, Marion Elementary
  • Sarah Sherrill, North Elementary
  • Candice Ruppert, North Shelby
  • Kaitlynn Acuff, Shelby High
  • Gabrielle Henderson, Shelby Intermediate
  • Alex Rowe, Shelby Middle (now at Kings Mountain High)
  • Rhonda Greene, Springmore Elementary
  • Cailyn Van Buren, Township Three Elementary (now at Washington Elementary)
  • Elizabeth Bell, Turning Point Academy
  • Susan Chapman, Union Elementary
  • Kimberly Proctor, Washington Elementary
  • Lexi Rayle, West Elementary