High-Flyers Recognized Favorite Educators

High-Flyers Recognized Favorite Educators
Posted on 03/28/2022

This year's Hoyt & Anne Dover Bailey Teaching Excellence Awards program did not disappoint as top academic seniors honored and awarded their favorite educators of all time. The event, held at the LeGrand Center, reunited top academic achievers with their teachers who impacted them most throughout their educational journey within Cleveland County Schools. Taking the podium, the students honored their educators with formal “thank you” sentiments and words of praise.

The educators and the senior scholars who nominated them are as follows:

  • Rebekah Hopkins of Burns High honored by Lillian Cornwell of Burns High
  • Evonne Jenkins of Jefferson Elementary honored by Emma Goforth of Shelby High
  • Meredith Royster of Burns High honored by Hailey Hamrick of Burns High
  • Allana Bryson of Springmore Elementary honored by Luke Kirby of Crest High
  • Matt Love of Cleveland Early College honored by Dylan Mistretta of Cleveland Early College
  • Tim Setzer of Kings Mountain Middle honored by Sally Ozmore of Kings Mountain High
  • Cindy Estridge of Kings Mountain High honored by Jonah Patrick of Kings Mountain High
  • Amanda Romito of Crest High honored by Eli Roberts of Crest High
  • Dave Reed of Kings Mountain Intermediate honored by Aydin Roper of Kings Mountain High
  • Tracy Gardo of Burns High honored by Hannah Spurling of Burns High
  • Donnie Goode of Crest High honored by Sam Thomas of Crest High
  • Andrew Wehmueller of Shelby High honored by Elija Wilbanks of Shelby High
  • Chris Emery of Shelby High honored by Luke Williams of Shelby High

The Cleveland County Schools Educational Foundation and the Dover Foundation continue to sponsor the event in memory of Hoyt and Anne Dover Bailey. The Late Hoyt Bailey, a former member of the Cleveland County Board of Education and a longtime member of the Foundation Board of Directors, sponsored the event for many years in memory of his beloved wife, Anne Dover Bailey.