Latest News‎ > ‎

Students recognized at annual Carl DeBrew Heroes Program

posted Oct 28, 2015, 1:36 PM by Greg Shull
Nineteen students were honored on October 27th for their courage and strength of character in the Carl DeBrew Heroes Program sponsored by the Cleveland County Schools Educational Foundation at the LeGrand Center.

The student Heroes were selected by their schools for being successful while coping with learning disorders, physical handicaps or other circumstances. The Foundation teamed with Laughlin Furniture Outlet to recognize inspirational students in Cleveland County Schools. Each Hero received a personalized medallion, certificate, and a t-shirt.

"The Educational Foundation's Carl DeBrew Hero Awards is one of the most touching events we offer each year," says Dr. George Litton, president of the Educational Foundation. "Mr. John Laughlin of Laughlin Furniture is a great benefactor to our students and we sincerely appreciate his assistance in making sure the programs are possible each year."

The program will air in coming weeks on Cleveland Community College’s Channel 19 on the local Time-Warner Cable network.

Heroes honored are as follows:

  • Bethware Elementary: Abriella Fritch
  • Boiling Springs Elementary: Sarah Michelle Lail
  • Casar Elementary: Pablo Garcia
  • East Elementary: Zi Hughes
  • Fallston Elementary: Emily Cook
  • Graham Elementary: Addison Parker
  • Grover Elementary: Viola VanDyke
  • James Love Elementary: Louie Scott
  • Jefferson Elementary: Juliet Hoag
  • Kings Mountain Intermediate: TyEura Harris
  • Marion Elementary: Mason Simmons
  • North Elementary: Brandon Matthew Bolen
  • North Shelby School: Nakaria Tate
  • Shelby Intermediate: Mary Bell Moore
  • Springmore Elementary: Madelyn Kratzer
  • Township Three Elementary: William Burns
  • Union Elementary: Alysa Cape
  • Washington Elementary: Christian Harris
  • West Elementary: Daniel Morales