Latest News‎ > ‎

Phyllis Ramsey Named 2014-2015 School Bus Driver of the Year

posted May 14, 2015, 12:24 PM by
On May 12th, Cleveland County Schools recognized Phyllis Ramsey, a Washington Elementary Teacher Assistant, as the recipient of the Donald K. Byrnes School Bus Driver of the Year. The competition and award is named in honor of Don Byrnes, a retired CCS school transportation director.

The Dave Hinson Awards were presented to drivers who display excellence and exhibit qualities of service as Mr. Hinson did during his many years of service with Cleveland County Schools. There were multiple, deserving recipients from each county school.

Van Canipe was honored as the 2014-2015 W.D. Smith Bus Administrator of the Year. This award was given to an administrator who demonstrates the qualities of the late Mr. Smith, a former CCS transportation director who was known for: dedication, passion, attention to detail, and positive attitude.

The two other Drivers of the Month were Richard Kendrick of Casar Elementary and Wendy Whitaker of Township Three Elementary. Participants of the Bus Driver of the Month program were able to compete against other winners to become Bus Driver of the Year. The Bus Driver of the Year program involved a panel interview, a pre-trip inspection demonstration, and a road test. This annual award is given to drivers who follow in the dedicated footsteps of Mr. Byrnes throughout his long and successful career in school transportation. Sponsors are J. Morgan Co. and Royster Oil Co.

Bus Driver Banquet