Latest News‎ > ‎

Educators Recognized for Going the Extra Mile

posted Nov 2, 2016, 1:52 PM by Greg Shull
The CCS Educational Foundation honored Barry Brogdon of Cleveland Early College High, Emily Jackson of Marion Elementary, and Rayvis Key of Kings Mountain High as the 2016 Agape Award finalists on November 1st at the Hoyt Q. Bailey Agape program held at the LeGrand Center. The awards include $250 cash prizes for each and are given annually by the Foundation to teachers who motivate and create opportunities for student success.

"It is great that we have wonderful teachers that we as a Foundation are able to recognize in a tangible way," says Jay Rhodes, a member of the Educational Foundation Board of Directors.

These teachers were also recognized as school-level Agape Award winners and were presented with a certificate:
  • Tracy Smith of Bethware Elementary
  • Tiffany Smith of Boiling Springs Elementary
  • Meredith Royster of Burns High
  • Jackie Centofanti of Burns Middle
  • Leigh Ann Earwood of Casar Elementary
  • Erin McWhirter of Crest High
  • Heather Parker of Crest Middle
  • Jada Hardin of East Elementary
  • Gay Eskew of Fallston Elementary
  • Candice Thomas of Graham Elementary
  • Angela McCray of Grover Elementary
  • Katherine Gamble of James Love Elementary
  • Theresa Jones of Jefferson Elementary
  • Stephanie Ellis of Kings Mountain Intermediate
  • Camille Putnam of Kings Mountain Middle
  • Denise McGirt of North Elementary
  • Mrs. Shi Whisnant of North Shelby School
  • Andrea Richardson of Shelby High
  • Terri Byers of Shelby Intermediate
  • Erin Sims of Shelby Middle
  • Lisa Smith of Springmore Elementary
  • Lisa Philbeck of Township Three Elementary
  • Tara McCurry of Turning Point Academy
  • Pam Fish of Union Elementary
  • Christy Starr of Washington Elementary
  • Katie Bolt of West Elementary