Latest News‎ > ‎

Driving Our Future

posted Jun 5, 2018, 12:42 PM by Greg Shull
Bus drivers from around the county came together to celebrate another successful school year in the area of school transportation. The bus driver of the year and bus administrator of the year were named at the event in front of a large group of bus drivers, school and district administrators, and elected officials.

Kay Bowen of Boiling Springs Elementary took top honors as she was named the 2018 Donald K. Byrnes Bus driver of the Year.

“I’m in total shock,” said Bowen after being recognized as driver of the year. “Anybody could have won, and it’s an honor.”

The Bus Driver of the Year program involved a panel interview, a pre-trip inspection demonstration, and a road test. This annual award is given to drivers who follow in the dedicated footsteps of Mr. Byrnes throughout his long and successful career in school transportation. Sponsors are J. Morgan Co. and Royster Oil Co.

“I love my job, love what I do, and love driving my bus,” added Bowen.

Dave Hinson Awards were also presented to drivers who display excellence and exhibit qualities of service as Mr. Hinson did during his many years of service with Cleveland County Schools. There were multiple deserving recipients from each county school.

Robin Edwards was honored as the 2017-2018 W.D. Smith Bus Administrator of the Year. This award was given to her as she demonstrated the qualities of the late Mr. Smith, a former CCS transportation director who was known for his dedication, passion, attention to detail, and positive attitude.

“Our drivers have high expectations for our students,” said Edwards when asked about what she attributes the award to about her transportation responsibilities at Crest Middle. “They treat our students as their own children.”