Latest News‎ > ‎

Best of the Best recognized at annual Wells Fargo Outstanding Educators event

posted Aug 29, 2017, 7:17 AM by Greg Shull   [ updated Aug 29, 2017, 7:18 AM ]

Top educators convened at the LeGrand Center this past week to crown the best of the best to represent Cleveland County as the teacher, teacher assistant, and principal of the year. The rooms adjacent to the atrium at the LeGrand Center were filled with anxious educators as they enjoyed breakfast and an awards ceremony made possible by longtime partner, Wells Fargo.

Jennenne Hunnell of Fallston Elementary will serve as the Cleveland County Schools Teacher of the Year; Robin Davis of Shelby Intermediate as the Teaching Assistant of the Year; and Mr. Titus Hopper of Cleveland Early College High will represent the district as the Principal of the Year.

All three received monetary awards from Wells Fargo for their professional development in addition to crystal apples handcrafted by N.C. artist Robert Levin.

“To me, this is the Emmys of teaching,” said Hunnell. “I feel like the teacher I am right now is a puzzle of all of the pieces of everybody I have come into contact with as I learn from everyone around me.”

Mrs. Hunnell will have the opportunity to attend the Ron Clark Academy in Atlanta courtesy of Laughlin Furniture and the CCS Educational Foundation. She also received a $100 gift certificate from the Cleveland County unit of the NCAE.

Hopper said, “I think we’re a cutting-edge school district … one of the top-ten school districts in this nation!”

Davis received gifts from the Cleveland County Association of Teacher Assistants, and the all three honorees received a year’s membership to the YMCA.

“Wow,” said Davis. “I love working with our district in supporting TAs because we have a lot of people who are passionate about their jobs.”

Mrs. Hunnell and Mr. Hopper will continue in their respective teacher and principal of the year regional competitions sponsored by NCDPI.

Nominated teachers and teaching assistants were also honored for their selections as school-level Teacher of the Year and Teaching Assistant of the Year.