Latest News‎ > ‎

2015 CCS Robotics Championship

posted Mar 20, 2015, 1:51 PM by Greg Shull   [ updated Mar 21, 2015, 6:45 PM ]
Cleveland County Schools' robotics teams came together at Central Services for the 2015 Glenn Lumber Co. and Laughlin Furniture Robotics Championship on March 20th.  The teams tested their STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math) knowledge and skills by facing a variety of challenges with and without their robots. 

The experience included robot runs, a pre-designed project presentation, designing a "City of the Future" in a makerspace area and more. The teams were tested most at the robot run tables where they complete an assortment of tasks on a thematic playing surface, using their team's LEGO-based robot. 

  • 1st Place Project Award Winner:  West Elementary Lego Legends
  • 1st Place Robot Run Winner: Crest Middle Six Circuits
  • 1st Place Team Spirit Winner: James Love Robo Knights
  • 1st Place Teamwork Winner: Kings Mtn. Intermediate Robot of Steel
  • 2nd Runner Up Overall Tournament Score: Union Brainstormers
  • 1st Runner Up Overall Tournament Score: The Clockwork Builders of Boiling Springs Elementary
  • Overall Tournament Champion: Crest Middle Six Circuits

A member of each team received the Tanner Denton Spirit Award, an award in its inaugural year created in honor of the late Tanner Denton, son of Travis and Melanie Denton. Tanner was an honor student at Jefferson Elementary School, who loved the Boy Scouts, Minecraft, singing, and soccer. Tanner was a member of the jump rope club and the robotics club.

The students chosen for this award are humble, caring, a team player, helpful, knowledgeable, and a problem solver, just like Tanner.

  • Bethware Elementary Mechanical Minds: Alayna Patrick
  • Boiling Springs Elementary The Clockwork Builders: Haley Glenn
  • Burns Middle Brainy Bunch: Aiden Lail
  • Burns Middle Mindstorms: Jake Self
  • Casar Zing: Dylan Mistretta
  • Crest Middle Six Circuits: Casey Greene
  • Crest Middle Biohazards: Alana Gates
  • East Elementary Einsteins: Jacob Hamrick
  • Fallston Elementary K-9 Mind Control: Jake Harrison
  • Grover Elementary Lego My Robo: Marcos Richardson
  • James Love Elementary Robo Knights: Kamari Singleton
  • Jefferson Elementary Rocyclers: Maya Emerson
  • Kings Mtn. Middle Robo-Dawggz: Allison Dennis
  • Kings Mtn. Intermediate N.E.R.D.S.: Marlee Arnold
  • Kings Mtn. Intermediate Robot of Steel: Kennedy Barns
  • Marion Elementary Brain Sweepers: Elijah Rabb
  • North Elementary Cyber Tigers: Julianna Williams
  • Shelby Intermediate Muscle Minds: Erin White
  • Shelby Intermediate Space Botz: Katie Allen
  • Shelby Intermediate Shelby Shockers: Caitlin Allen
  • Shelby Middle: Austin Foulk
  • Springmore Elementary Einsteins: Allie MacArthur
  • Union Elementary Brain Stormers: Nash Pressley
  • Washington Elementary Mindstormers: Andrew Parsons
  • West Elementary Lego Legends: Jake Lloyd

"City of the Future" Timelapse Video

Click here to watch several robot runs and interviews from the event.

2015 Robotics Championships